Day 325: Marmot

“Marmots are large squirrels in the genus Marmota, of which there are 15 species. Some species live in mountainous areas, such as the Alps, northern Apennines, Carpathians, Tatras, and Pyrenees in Europe and northwestern Asia; the Rocky Mountains, Black Hills, Cascades, Pacific Ranges, and Sierra Nevada in North America; and the Deosai Plateau in Pakistan and Ladakh in India. Other species prefer rough grassland and can be found widely across North America and the Eurasian steppes. The similarly sized, but more social, prairie dog is not classified in the genus Marmota but in the related genus Cynomys. Marmots typically live in burrows (often within rockpiles, particularly in the case of the yellow-bellied marmot), and hibernate there through the winter. Most marmots are highly social and use loud whistles to communicate with one another, especially when alarmed. Marmots mainly eat greens and many types of grasses, berries, lichens, mosses, roots, and flowers.” To read more click here

22 thoughts on “Day 325: Marmot

    • Thank you! The rodent family has a lot of members that are not liked very much by farmers/gardeners. It’s understandable considering all the damage they can do.

      Like

    • Thanks so much! As I was just saying to another commenter, I was very surprised this marmot let me get as close as I did. The same thing happened with a butterfly the other day. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think we should nickname you the flora and fauna whisperer lol!! You obviously have a very special gift Jackie, not only finding the most perfect flower and plant specimens, but having the animal and insect kingdom at ease in your presence ~ Awesome πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

          • πŸ™‚ But, It’s so very true! I’m just surprised you haven’t been given the title before (unless…you have and I missed it πŸ˜‰ ?!) btw…nice that we are together in real time, also, I hope you got my email about yours before? πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

            • No, no one has called me that. I like the title though. πŸ˜‰ I agree, it is really nice that we are online at the same time! Also, I did get your email and replied just now. Thanks again, it was so sweet of you to give me a chance to resend the text. πŸ˜€ xo

              Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.