Day 250: Eartipped

This is one of the feral cats from the cat community that lives in the woods behind my apartment building. This is the first time I have seen him this year and I noticed that his ear is tipped! This is a wonderful! It means that he was T-N-R’d which I have been advocating for since I moved into this area. Ear tipping? TNR? What does that all that mean?

TNR: “Trap-Neuter-Return, commonly referred to as “TNR,” is the only method proven to be humane and effective at controlling feral cat population growth. Using this technique, all the feral cats in a colony are trapped, neutered and then returned to their territory where caretakers provide them with regular food and shelter.TNR has many advantages. It immediately stabilizes the size of the colony by eliminating new litters. The nuisance behavior often associated with feral cats is dramatically reduced, including the yowling and fighting that come with mating activity and the odor of unneutered males spraying to mark their territory. The returned colony also guards its territory, preventing unneutered cats from moving in and beginning the cycle of overpopulation and problem behavior anew. Particularly in urban areas, the cats continue to provide natural rodent control” To read more click here

Eartipping: “Eartipping is an effective and universally accepted method to identify a spayed or neutered and vaccinated community cat. Eartipping is the removal of the distal one-quarter of a cat’s left ear, which is approximately 3/8 inch, or 1 cm, in an adult and proportionally smaller in a kitten. This procedure is performed under sterile conditions while the cat is already anesthetized for spay or neuter surgery. There is little or no bleeding, it is relatively painless to the cat, and the eartip does not significantly alter the appearance or beauty of the cat. Eartipping is the preferred method to identify spayed or neutered and vaccinated community cats, because it is difficult to get close to them and therefore the identification must be visible from a distance” To read more click 

11 thoughts on “Day 250: Eartipped

  1. I see a cat when I walk early in the morning. I suppose it is a feral one. While I walk near a wooded area, I don’t go into the woods. But I turn around when I see the cat up ahead. There have been cases of rabies in the area and am always on the watch as I have seen skunks and an occasion fox.

    Like

Comments are closed.