Day 193: Watermelon Radish

“The Watermelon radish is made up of an edible globular root attached to thin stems and wavy green leaves. Its exterior is creamy white in color with pale green shoulders, a sign of the chlorophyll it received from exposure to the sun. The Watermelon radish’s flesh is white closest to the exterior becoming bright circular striations of pink and magenta, hence the watermelon reference. Its flesh is tender-crisp, succulent, and firm. Its flavor is mild, only slightly peppery with almond-sweet notes. Watermelon radish is an heirloom Chinese daikon radish and botanically a member of the Brassica (mustard) family. Like most radishes the Watermelon radish contains isothiocyanate, a pungent chemical compound that when isolated makes an organic, natural pest repellent.” To read more click here

Note from blogger: I have been sick with bronchitis for a week or so. As a result, I have fallen very behind on my blog reading and email replies. Β I will catch up just as soon as I can.

36 thoughts on “Day 193: Watermelon Radish

    • Thank you! I’m starting to feel better but it’s slow going. That’s probably because I have chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.

      Like

        • That may be something that is in my future but thankfully so far I haven’t had to use supplemental oxygen. I just try to take things one day at a time and do my best to keep myself as healthy as possible. It’s a challenge a lot if the time that’s for sure.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Glad you haven’t had to go on oxygen! Yes, chronic illness is a full time job. We do what we can to keep as well as possible! One day at a time is the only way I can manage things these days. I still make plans but we always know that I might be poorly. I found that accepting things for how they are has helped me to move on from the days of feeling sorry for myself and just doing the things that I love when I can πŸ™‚ I think you have the same ethos! Hopefully you’ll be fully free from the bug soon. Spring is definitely coming so I hope a bit more sunshine and warmth will do many of us the power of good πŸ˜€

            Liked by 1 person

            • You are right – I do have the same ethos! I also have fibro so between that and the COPD there are a lot of times I can’t do what I want. But I don’t have it as bad as some and for that I count my blessings. Instead of focusing on the bad I’d much rather focus on the things I love like photography and my grandkids. I’ve been to the doctor again and she put me on another round of prednisone and antibiotics so I should be better soon. Today is absolutely gorgeous out so I have been sitting outside on my patio. Not only is it good for my body but it’s good for my spirits. πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

  1. What a beautiful radish and a great shot of it as well Jackie! Love the colours. πŸ˜€

    Sorry to hear you haven’t been well. Hope you stay well. Take care. β™₯

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.