Day 143: Dahlia

“Dahlia is a genus of bushy, tuberous, herbaceous perennial plants native to Mexico. A member of the Asteraceae (or Compositae), dicotyledonous plants, related species include the sunflower, daisy, chrysanthemum, and zinnia. There are 42 species of dahlia, with hybrids commonly grown as garden plants. Flower forms are variable, with one head per stem; these can be as small as 2 in (5.1 cm) diameter or up to 1 ft (30 cm) (“dinner plate”). This great variety results from dahlias being octoploidsβ€”that is, they have eight sets of homologous chromosomes, whereas most plants have only two.” To read more about Dahlia’s click here

24 thoughts on “Day 143: Dahlia

  1. They are beautiful old time flowers that not many people grow any more. Here in our climate we have to take the bulbs in for the winter, and I guess people don’t want to do that. It’s a great shot of a really pretty one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I went searching for octoploid and discovered there is also a Polyploid. πŸ™‚ I will be looking at flowers in a completely different way now. πŸ˜‰ There are probably a bunch of other ploids too, but I think I’ll avoid them ….. for now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed! Nothing in nature is perfect – that’s what makes it so beautiful. πŸ˜‰ I hope you have a lovely weekend. I should be caught up on things so I will hopefully get that email reply to you. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • Precisely, beauty is always in the eye of the beholder! I found it beautiful immediately, so, how could that little bug resist??! πŸ™‚
        I see you have your snuggly fur coat back πŸ˜‰ I hope your weather isn’t too bad, but, nothing like taking precautions due to predictions. Have a great weekend too Jackie….:-D !!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.