Day 105: Cats

“It’s no easy matter to win a cat’s love, for cats are philosophical, sedate, quiet animals, fond of their own way, liking cleanliness and order, and not apt to bestow their affection hastily. They are quite willing to be friends, if you prove worthy of their friendship, but they decline to be slaves. They are affectionate, but they exercise free will, and will not do for you what they consider to be unreasonable. Once, however, they have bestowed their friendship, their trust is absolute, and their affection most faithful.” -Theophile Gautier (Source)

38 thoughts on “Day 105: Cats

  1. a beautiful photo, and truer words were never spoken. 🙂 I have two neighbourhood cats who wander my backyard on a regular basis, and the first one (who has been visiting for over a year now) demands affection (or not at all), and the other (a more recent visitor) gives lots and lots of affection (and asks nothing in return!) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beautiful shot, Jackie! The cat does look quite and sedate, peaceful in this photograph. I like how the green grass looks with its grey fur.
    I thank you for your comment on my recent post. I”m going to be taking that one down because I”m looking into licensing. I don’t want anything I said in my last post to detract from potential agents.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Jackie, I can’t stop looking at this photo, there is just something about it, probably because I love and know cats so very well. And of course this description of them is just so perfect and true. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree! The author of the quote was an avid cat lover. You can tell he not only loves them but has observed them very carefully as well. The cat in the picture I nicknamed Mr. Friendly because he is one of the friendliest cats I have ever met. He lives in one of the apartment buildings close to mine and everyone in the neighborhood knows him. I don’t think he stays home longer than a minute before he is back out again. He is a very social cat. >^..^<

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.