Day 71: Connecticut Coyotes

“Coyotes were not originally found in Connecticut, but have extended their range eastward during the last 100 years from the western plains and midwestern United States, through Canada and into the northeastern and mid-Atlantic states. Coyotes were first reported in Connecticut in the mid-1950s. For the next 10 years, most coyote reports were from northwestern Connecticut. Coyotes eventually expanded their range throughout the entire state and are now a part of Connecticut’s ecosystem. The coyote is one wildlife species that has adapted to human-disturbed environments and can thrive in close proximity to populated areas.” (Source)

25 thoughts on “Day 71: Connecticut Coyotes

  1. There is now a developing coyote problem in Toronto,Ontario. There have been reports of along the North Channel of Lake Huron of sightings. The real concern is that coyotes and wolves can interbreed – they produce a blend that are as smart as coyotes with the group hunting skills of wolves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel sorry for these guys… along with all the other animals… as their native habitat is being encroached upon housing development by housing development in Southern California. I guess that’s why they are moving to Connecticut!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Christine! He/she was keeping a close eye on me making sure I wasn’t a threat. I didn’t want to push my luck so I didn’t hang around long. πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. They are a smart looking animal. Do they hunt in packs, kill sheep? The dingo in Australia is a formidable hunter not loved by sheep farmers. They have been known to have killled babies and young children.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Their legs are so long … I just realized that’s what makes ’em look thin and scraggy: they’re sort of out of proportion. But it’s really only that we’re used to dawgs …
    They probably eat some of the other things you photograph so brilliantly, Jackie … 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh wow, you were brave to be close enough to take that great picture. A zoom, I hope. πŸ™‚ My son says they will normally only bother people if there’s a pack of them. We have them here too, but way up in the mountains.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There was a very steep hill between us. I think there was 3 of them total but this one stayed out in the open allowing me to get a few photos. I used the zoom on my camera but I was close enough that I knew I had to be cautious. The coyote was very aware of me so I didn’t hang around too long. Interestingly enough, I heard them howling this morning. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.