27 thoughts on “Day 27: More Old School

  1. I grew up in Rochester, New York, the home of George Eastman and of course, Eastman Kodak, where every kid’s father on our street (except mine of course,lol) worked for the company called “the firm with the golden handcuffs”, meaning Kodak took such good care of its employees, they never got to first base trying to unionize. Your photograph is nostalgia and technology all rolled into one!

    Like

  2. Gorgeous! They don’t make them like that anymore. Are you still able to use it Jackie? Digital seems to be king at the moment, I wonder if it’s still possible to buy film and processing paper these days – It’s a long time since I tried, I have to confess! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The camera is in need of a good cleaning before ever considering it usable. But even if I did clean it up I’m not sure I can still get film for it or get the film processed. Even though digital is king at the moment they still sell film and you can still send it away for processing. Or you can build your own darkroom and process your own photos.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I suppose the format may not be available for that particular model, but it’s good to hear that it’s still possible to build a darkroom at home. Thinking about it, I know artists here who make pinhole cameras, so of course the papers and developers would be used in that case, I assume. It’s good that both options are available still. The process is so engaging. There’s something magical about seeing an image appear on paper in the developer bath! Although it’s a long time since I had a go. Thanks for lovely post, thought-provoking as always 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I bought a medium format camera in 1987 called a Plaubel-Makina, which was basically a modern version (at the time) of the type of bellows flip down camera in your photograph. It used 120 film, and had a 6×7 frame, making for a huge rectangular negative about 9 times as big as 35mm. Those were the clearest and crispest photos I ever shot. The camera is long gone, but I still have the negs and some large prints.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your collection so far and can’t wait to see what else you have collected :-), I wonder if you have one like the one I own, it was my grandma’s, I think it is a box brownie of some sort?! I bet they bring you lots of pleasure just looking at them and wondering what they snapped in the past!!!?! It’s like they all hold little secrets, from before you acquired them. I wondered, do some/any/all still work as well? That would be amazing after all those years! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so glad you are enjoying my collection. I have a couple of brownie cameras that I planned on posting soon. I will let you tell me if they are the same. 😉 the first camera I posted works but I need to locate film for it as well as find someone to process the film. The one in today’s picture needs a good cleaning before it could ever be used. I’m thinking as soon as next winter rolls around when I’m stuck inside I may try and clean it up and see if it works. But again I need to locate film for it and find a place that can develop it. It will also depend on the cost. So we shall see. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.