20 thoughts on “Day 26: Flowering Catkins

  1. A marvellous closeup of a process about which I knew nothing ! – it never occurred to me to wonder what’s under that silky stuff. 😀

    Like

    • Thanks so much! You are not alone – I also never knew that pussy willows went through any process until I moved to the area I live in now.. The only time I saw them before that was in flower arrangements. There is always something new to learn when it comes to nature. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! This from the article that I linked to in the caption: “The terminology “pussy willows” is used loosely to refer both to the trees themselves and to the furry buds on their branches (also known as “catkins”).” Hopefully that clarifies things?

      Like

  2. Beautiful!!…. and, full of promise of being a spectacularly furry specimen 😉
    The little version we have in our garden is just showing signs of ripening buds, so, I’m look forward to lots of little pussy willows soon too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.